Retirement

Members writing in the style and using the characters of W.E.J. (Fan Fiction)

Retirement

Postby HostileCacti » 12 Dec 2017, 23:15

This is my very first attempt at writing FanFic. And this "writing in the style of WEJ" - thing. :writing: Well, I don't think I quite managed that.... :doh: And no flying :pilot: and no action :scared: But it's got chocolate. And tea. Tea is important.
Please be gentle!! :twisted: :laughspit:

Retirement

It was another typical English autumn day. Wet and dreary. How these people could ever win
two world wars was beyond him. Maybe it was the weather that drove them abroad?
Better to fight in countries with superior climates than to live in this? He sneered to
himself.

As he was musing on the English mind, he was listening to footsteps coming up the main staircase in
the big anonymous apartment building he was living in. He didn't pay any particular heed,
the few people who visited him (mainly Bigglesworth) always used the lift.
These footsteps were rather interesting however. They were light and hesitant,
and the person, whoever it was, appeared to be stopping at every door on every landing before continuing up the next flight.
He heard no knocking and no voices so whoever it was didn't seem to be peddling anything.
He did not think the footsteps concerned him however, he was no longer a threat to anybody.

But his training made him pick up on anything out of the ordinary, and as the footsteps slowly
progressed up the many flights of stairs and got closer to him, he was intrigued in spite of himself.
As the footsteps halted in front of his door, he found himself holding his breath while he waited for
the footsteps to continue. They did not. However much he strained his hearing all he could hear was
the noises of the inferior heating and plumbing system. This time he did not sneer however, he was
too emerged in the mystery of the footsteps. He really was getting bored. He had to take up the